Hi everyone

Hi, I’m Jen. I just have a simple setup in my living room. I know a lot of people have huge tanks with stuff hidden in the back that automatically tops up the water and cleans out surplus nutrients, but I do all of that myself. I feel like testing and changing the water myself gives me a closer relationship to the fish and the corals. If I automate it all, then it would still be pretty and all, but I worry I’d be less attached to it. On the other hand, maybe it wouldn’t suck so hard when one of the corals dies, or a fish decides to jump out of the tank. What does everyone else think?

Welcome to the page. I’m really new to all of this, but I did see a video in which they mentioned Purple or Red Firefish being jumpers, and said not to keep them in uncovered tanks. Were the fish that jumped out Firefish by any chance? I’m still firmly in the research stages, but the fact that you have a simple setup is reassuring. The possibilities and options seem overwhelming. However, I have a feeling my wife won;t want to top the water up herself, or change it. I’ll have to do all the maintenance.

Welcome Jen. I understand the desire to keep it small and affordable. The advantage of having systems that top up the water levels for you and maintain a balanced environment is twofold. Having feeders, auto-toppers, sump-tanks, a skimmer, etc. mean that you can afford to be away from home for a few days (perhaps at a reefer convention) and your beloved fish and coral won’t suffer for it. It also means that you can cut down on human interference, which is a good thing. The more you can keep out of the tank, the better. You don’t want to stress them out.